Tourista: A Global Discourse

Tourista: A Global Discourse (Column by Lee-Ann Mudaly, published on Bikyamasr.com or Bikyanews.com)

Posted date:  July 03, 2012In:  Egypt, Latest News, Opinion, Travel| comment : 2

Portal

Bikyamasr.com will take you on a global discourse journey with the new column “Tourista”.

Imagine you are off on a trip; a vacation or a cruise to some cluster of islands, off some coast, somewhere (perhaps you actually are, so this won’t be too difficult). Maybe you’re more of the adventurous type off on some unchartered journey; an exploration of the jungles of the Amazon, or a voyage across the open seas, all on some huge spontaneous note. Perhaps life has got you moving about, making big changes, now you’re off migrating your whole life over into this new territory- into the unknown. Well, now, this all sounds exciting and for some of us nerve-wracking. Either way, thoughts come up, plans need to be made, or not made (depending on your level of spontaneity or in my case, procrastination) before you begin. Now this may seem like I’m rambling here, but you see, I’ve been in, not one, but all of the possible situations above, and almost every single time, my thoughts and daydreams and expectations of the new and unknown, were misconceptions of the people and its culture, based on, well, the media or the commentary and views from friends’ and colleagues’, as well as, the very tourist-guidebooks you’re probably using right now to plan your vacation. The point is, however I managed to construct these expectations of my ultimate destination, I ended up with the same result- a major surprise and at times even a nasty shock!

You see, like all of us, I was born into a country and nationality, but then I immigrated, then I traveled, then I migrated and then migrated back, traveled some more…and some more, and now I find myself in a country over my expected time of stay. So here I am, in Cairo, Egypt. Now the first image that crept in to my mind, when thinking of Egypt, was Cleopatra, then next came the pyramids, the sphinx and not to mention the mystical travelers on horseback, traveling by starlight, bringing news and bartering goods across sandy desert dunes, and oh, let us not forget, these things called ‘mummies’ (we’ve probably all seen ‘The Mummy’ movie of ’99). Yes, I will admit to that; that being the sad, typically-touristic view of these ancient lands and the very cradle of civilization, of life in Egypt.

You see I’ve had certain views and expectations of the land located in Northern Africa; the home to the Nile and the ancient ruins; the birth place to much of mankind’s history- from cuneiform and hieroglyphics etched into the walls then inked on to papyrus; to the beginnings of fashion rooting from hemp and jute cloth khalasaris; to paganism beliefs, legends or myths; and a land over which greats such as Alexander the Great journeyed and Roman emperors such as Julius Caesar formed political and romantic alliances. This is how I’ve imagined and read of Egypt. My expectations, no matter how much the news of Revolution and protests before and during my departure should’ve swayed, all remained secured and intact- until the day I arrived.

To keep it short, I arrived, I saw, I felt, I tasted, I took in all the odors (and there are many) and whatever else my senses and emotions could pick up on; ups and downs, highs and lows- including fear. In short, I experienced. I thought I was ‘prepped’; I was ready for my trip here. But, let me tell you, no guidebook, or anecdote from your friend’s trip last year can get you ready. You see, things are vastly different on the ground, so to speak.

What I’ve realized now is that people, both locals here and foreigners (that are either coming to visit or to stay), tend to have certain misconceptions of the other. Let’s face it, we tend to fear what we don’t know much about. Egypt has changed, much like the rest of the world has; no matter how much we ‘expect’ of it or wish it to be- it has not remained frozen in time, thousands of years before Christ. No, the country and her people have grown in numbers and have faced a great many changes politically, socially and economically speaking too. And if you’ve been following the news, you’ve witnessed Egypt and many other countries these days, facing a rather tumultuous time. The thing is, one thing is universal; we are all human beings, and with that comes the one undeniable truth and commonality despite culture and despite beliefs- we all are born, we grow, we love, we laugh, we cry, we mourn, we all hurt the same way, we all desire (regardless if you are a priest, nun, sheikh, pastor, prophet, Buddhist monk, etc…), and then we one day pass on and leave this world, this life- that includes the cycle of life in a nutshell. Why am I saying this? Well to put it plainly- if we are all made of the same ‘stuff’, I have to believe that we can figure the rest of the ‘stuff’ out- the ‘stuff’ that sets us apart.

In order to respect the culture of the host country, you have to be ready to make a few changes to your lifestyle. You have to understand the country and its people. However, if you’ve seen what’s been happening in Tahrir of late, makes me question the very boundaries of this culture and the very hypocrisy faced daily in the lives of the locals, as well as, the foreigners. When harassment occurs and assault on women by these same apparent ‘religious’ men of staunch strong and ‘unwavering’ beliefs, how then can we come to terms with it? How then can we be asked to follow the culture, customs and norms, if our own are attacked and or neglected; such as our own practiced norms and rights? There is a blurry line between our cultures, which is the respect, of which the boundaries of this culture have perhaps crossed over and bled into the next.

In talking to fellow travelers, tourists, expats and foreigners living here temporarily, I have realized that we all face the same issues daily. However, this is not something you can read about or watch on the news. So this brings me to finally, welcoming you to Global Discourse/Global Chat/ Globe Trotters/ Touristas, this column, this space; a forum on which you may find that everyday-life experience, of a fellow traveler, or a view of a current event, situation or issue, and some fun anecdotes and tips on traveling, keeping safe and overall enjoying time here in Egypt. By reading the small blurbs and thoughts on the people, the culture, the religion, the nightlife, the travel, the everyday mundane tasks (like grocery shopping or going for a walk) – perhaps then prospective travelers may see Egypt, not as it was, only, but as it truly is, currently. Perhaps then these unwarranted misconceptions and fear of the unknown and of a people, here and throughout the Arab World, may fade away, leaving room for your own potential first-hand account and experience of Egypt. Or at least, it can explain to you and to all those that don’t understand what it is truly like and what it takes to live here; why certain fears remain legitimate.

So, look to this space, to find the next chapter in the daily lives of foreigner’s here in Egypt. I encourage any comments and/or opinions or views on any issues you would like to discuss or share. After all, fellow Globe Trotters, awareness is the first step to understanding our ‘unknown.’

Safe travels

BM

Leave a comment